Unknown energy waste can’t be saved

electricity-meter-computer-icons-clip-ar

After the main meter, mere darkness in the energy situation.

The situation

Do you know, which of your large facilities causes half of the total energy expenditure?   

If you don't know that, you're not alone.

 

Even large companies often do not know where, how much and when energy is used. Most of the time they only have the information of the main meter because they receive the bill once a month. This ignorance means they also miss the cheapest opportunities for improvement. 

These are the energy saving measures that can be implemented with little investment: the low hanging fruit. In this way, a positive cash flow can be obtained quickly, which can be reinvested in further energy saving measures. Congratulations, you found your way to the energy transition!

 

With increasing impatience, society now expects companies to offer their products and services in line with the interests of the next generations. 

This expectation is expressed in concrete by laws and incentives (sticks and carrots). For example, many countries have target agreements (e.g. with 10 year efficiency programs) for large consumers, with which these companies can take the initiative themselves, reducing pressure of the authorities.

 

But even with these target agreements, energy transparency is is essential for success. Why not start right from the beginning to present the energy situation clearly and in detail? Maybe because it requires too much effort or because you you thing you don’t need it?

My mission is to show:

  • That it is not expensive to quantify the energy situation, just start with the largest installations.That way, you can quickly see the first results.

  • That you can't start the energy transition without enough details and information.

  • That a detailed data acquisition in real time, together with the evaluation in an energy management system (EMS) opens the way to the cheapest energy saving measures. These are the measures where often small investments are sufficient because they are related to organization, maintenance or settings.

Why energy transparency?

Your doctor already knows that transparency and results are closely connected (diagnosis & therapy). It is also known in politics (гласность & перестройка or Transparency and Reorganisation under Mikhail Gorbachov). It will come as no surprise that something similar applies to technology and energy management: targeted information gathering and analysis is the beginning of the solution.

Which energy transition can you expect without energy transparency?

​​

Wanting to save energy without targeted measurements is like building without a plan. It seems like you are doing something useful. In reality, it is easy to make decisions in the darkness that later turn out to be unrelated to the holistic situation.

And if we measure, why not in a professional way, in real time, with an energy management system? It is important that you get detailed and spot-on information with targeted recordings and little effort. This could be called the Pareto rule of measurement technology.

Is energy transparency expensive?

To date, energy transparency has been expensive. Individual energy loggers, for example, are a cheap solution but not suitable for simultaneously measuring, evaluating and comparing the important energy guzzlers in real time. You need an Energy Management System (EMS). This is a fixed system until now requiring cabling, EMS software and much configuration effort. And yes, that's pretty expensive.

However, the Pareto rule says: it would be wiser to first gain experience with a mobile EMS on only the most important energy guzzlers in order to achieve initial success. If you see that this success is greater than the effort, you can go further. If you are not enthusiastic, you want to say goodbye to the EMS. So renting the EMS is better than buying it.

 

This is how an entrepreneur works. Try small, decide quickly. 

 

Therefore we developed and patented a simple, preconfigured system that connects a number of your largest consumers to a professional EMS, even for only a week

Unbekannte Energieverschwendung kann nicht eingespart werden

electricity-meter-computer-icons-clip-ar

Nach dem Hauptzähler nur Finsternis in der Energiebuchhaltung

Die Situation

Wissen Sie, welche Ihrer grossen Anlagen im Unternehmen insgesamt die Hälfte der gesamtlichen Energieausgaben verursachen? 
 

Wenn Sie das nicht wissen, sind Sie nicht einzig.

 

Sogar Grossunternehmen wissen oft nicht, wo, wieviel und wenn Energie verbraucht wird. Meistens kennen sie nur die Daten des Hauptzählers, weil sie einmal pro Monat die Rechnung bekommen. Damit verpassen sie auch die günstigsten Verbesserungschancen. 

Das sind die Energiesparmassnahmen, die mit geringen Investitionen umsetzbar sind. Man erzielt so rasch einen positiven Cash-Flow, die in weiteren Energiesparmassnahmen reinvestiert werden können. So hat man schnell den Weg in die Energiewende gefunden.

 

Die Gesellschaft erwartet mittlerweile mit immer mehr Ungeduld, dass die Unternehmen im Einklang mit den Interessen der nächsten Generationen ihre Produkte und Dienstleistungen anbieten. 

Diese Erwartung wird konkret mit Gesetzen und Inzentiven ausgedrückt. Zum Beispiel gibt es die Zielvereinbarungen für Grossverbraucher, womit die Unternehmen selber die Initiative an die Hand nehmen können und damit den "Zwang" der Behörden vermindern können. 

Aber sogar bei diesen Zielvereinbarungen wird die Energietransparenz nicht optimal angewendet. Warum fängt man nicht früher an, die Energiesituation deutlich und detailliert darzustellen? Weil es zuviel Aufwand gibt, oder weil man die Details nicht braucht?

Meine Mission ist es zu zeigen:

  • Dass man die Energiesituation günstig quantifizieren kann, indem man "Top Down" und zunächst mit den grössten Anlagen anfängt. Damit man rasch die ersten Resultaten sieht.

  • Dass man ohne genügend Information die Energiewende nicht kann anfangen.

  • Dass eine detaillierte Datenerfassung in Realzeit, zusammen mit der Bewertung in einem Energy Management System, den Weg zu den günstigsten Energiesparmassnahmen öffnet. Das sind die Massnahmen, wo oft keine grosse Investitionen nötig sind, weil sie mit Organisation, Wartung oder Einstellungen zusammenhängen.

Warum Energietransparenz?

Dass Transparenz und Resultate ganz eng verbunden sind weiss schon ihr Arzt (Diagnose & Therapie). Auch in der Politik ist es bekannt (гласность & перестройка oder Transparenz und Umstellung unter Michail Gorbachov). Es wird keine Überraschung sein, dass auch in der Technik und beim Energy Management etwas ähnliches gilt: Die gezielte Informationssammlung ist der Anfang der Lösung.

Welche Energiewende kann man ohne Energietransparenz erwarten?

Energie einsparen zu wollen ohne gezielt zu messen, ist wie bauen ohne Plan. Es scheint, dass man etwas nützliches macht. In Wirklichkeit kommt man leicht zu Entscheidungen, die sich später als unzusammenhängend mit der ganzheitlichen Situation erweisen.

Und wenn wir schon messen, warum dann nicht professionell in Realzeit, mit einem Energy Management System? Wichtig ist, dass man mit gezielten Aufzeichnungen und wenig Aufwand einen grossen Informationswert bekommt. Das könnte man die Pareto-Regel der Messtechnik nennen.

Ist Energietransparenz teuer?

Bis heute war die Energietransparenz teuer. Um die wichtigen Energiefresser gleichzeitig zu messen, in Realzeit zu bewerten und zu vergleichen, sind z.B. einzelne Energielogger nicht geeignet. Man braucht ein Energy Management System (EMS). Das ist - bis heute - eine feste Anlage mit Verkabelung, eine EMS-Software und Aufwand für die Konfigurierung. Und ja, das ist ziemlich teuer.

Aus diesem Grund haben wir ein einfaches, vorkonfiguriertes System entwickelt und patentiert, das einigen Ihrer grössten Verbraucher auch nur für eine Woche mit einem professionellen EMS verbindet.